The Indices of Deprivation 2015 are national measures based on 37 indicators, which highlight characteristics of deprivation such as unemployment, low income, crime and poor access to education and health services. The 2015 indices offer an in-depth approach to pinpointing small pockets of deprivation. Most indicators used data based on the tax year 2012/13. The indices are a key measure used by Central Government to help target policies and funding to improve the quality of life in disadvantaged communities. The headline measure is the Index of Multiple Deprivation. This can be analysed in more depth by looking at the seven distinct domains of deprivation:

  • Income Deprivation
  • Employment Deprivation
  • Health Deprivation and Disability
  • Education, Skills and Training Deprivation
  • Barriers to Housing and Services
  • Crime
  • Living Environment Deprivation

The indices use Lower Super Output Areas (LSOA) rather than wards. These are small geographical units averaging 1,600 people and provide a more in-depth appreciation of variations in deprivation at a local level.


Summary analysis of the latest Indices of Deprivation within Gloucestershire

Components of Indices

Summary of the domains, indicators and statistical methods used to create the Indices of Deprivation

Fact Sheets

These one page fact sheets provide a quick summary on deprivation for each district in Gloucestershire

Interactive Report

The interactive report accompanies the deprivation overview and provides interactive maps for all of the components of the Indices of Deprivation 2015

Get the Data

Use our 2015 spreadsheet to see Gloucestershire's national and county ranks and quintiles at LSOA level


Link to pdf maps


Link to Indices of Deprivation 2010 overview, data and maps

Other Resources

Find links to other resources related to deprivation

Updated: 22 September 2017 | Owner: Administrator