Deprivation 2015 - Overview

The Indices of Deprivation 2015 are national measures based on 37 indicators, which highlight characteristics of deprivation such as unemployment, low income, crime and poor access to education and health services. The 2015 indices offer an in-depth approach to pinpointing small pockets of deprivation. Most indicators used data based on the tax year 2012/13. The indices are a key measure used by Central Government to help target policies and funding to improve the quality of life in disadvantaged communities. The headline measure is the Index of Multiple Deprivation. This can be analysed in more depth by looking at the seven distinct domains of deprivation:

  • Income Deprivation
  • Employment Deprivation
  • Health Deprivation and Disability
  • Education, Skills and Training Deprivation
  • Barriers to Housing and Services
  • Crime
  • Living Environment Deprivation

The indices use Lower Super Output Areas (LSOA) rather than wards. These are small geographical units averaging 1,600 people and provide a more in-depth appreciation of variations in deprivation at a local level.


The overview provides a summary analysis of the latest Indices of Deprivation within Gloucestershire.



Help us improve Inform

Don’t include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.