Deprivation 2010 - Overview

The Indices of Deprivation 2010 are national measures based on 37 indicators, which highlight characteristics of deprivation such as unemployment, low income, crime and poor access to education and health services. The revised indices offer an in-depth approach to pinpointing small pockets of deprivation. They are based on data from 2008. The indices are a key measure used by Central Government to help target policies and funding to improve the quality of life in disadvantaged communities. The headline measure is the Index of Multiple Deprivation. This can be analysed in more depth by looking the seven component domains of:

  • Income
  • Employment
  • Health deprivation and disability
  • Education, skills and training deprivation
  • Barriers to Housing and Services
  • Crime
  • Living Environment

The indices use Lower Super Output Areas (LSOA) rather than wards. These are small geographical units covering between 1,000 and 3,000 people and provide a more in-depth appreciation of variations in deprivation at a local level. There are over 32,000 LSOAs in comparison to 8,500 wards, and they are more consistent in size. In Gloucestershire there are 367 LSOAs compared to 142 wards. This helps us identify the small pockets of deprivation that exist alongside some of our less deprived areas.

The overview provides a summary analysis of the 2010 Indices of Deprivation within Gloucestershire

Help us improve Inform

Don’t include personal or financial information like your National Insurance number or credit card details.